Emerging artists are being recognized this summer with a couple of award announcements.

Eleven regional winners, who each receive $5,000, were also selected for the BMO prize: Tiffany Wollman of Alberta College of Art and Design; Sam Knopp of Emily Carr University of Art and Design; Hillary Smith of the University of Manitoba; Carson Isenor of Mount Allison University; Whitney French of the Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland; Alexis Bulman of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design; Silas Qulaut of Nunavut Arctic College; Eshan Rafi of York University; Valerie LeClair of Holland College; Laura Rokas-Bérubé of Concordia University; Charles Brendan Schick of the University of Regina; and Derian Blake of the Yukon School of Visual Arts.

Read more http://www.canadianart.ca/news/2013/08/05/emerging-artist-story/